College Wrestling News

2017 UWW Junior Freestyle National Championships Preview

2017 UWW Junior Freestyle

2017 UWW Junior Freestyle Preview

The nation’s best 17-20-year-old wrestlers will converge at the South Point Hotel and Casino in Las Vegas, Nevada, April 26th-29th. This event will feature many of the nation’s best college underclassmen and high school stars. The UWW Junior Freestyle National Championships will act as a qualifier into the UWW Junior Freestyle World Team Trials in Lincoln, NE, June 9-10. The top seven freestyle finishers per weight category will earn a spot in the 2017 U.S. UWW Junior Freestyle World Team Trials. The championship finals in the UWW Junior World weight classes will be a best-of-three series. In the three non-UWW Junior World weight classes (63, 70, and 79 kg), the finalists will only wrestle once.

Please note, the entry list for the tournament will not be final until Tuesday at 9 am pacific so more wrestlers could still register.

66 kg

This weight class should be wide open for anyone to win this week. College wrestler Patricio Lugo of the Edinboro Regional Training Center might have a leg up on the competition as he is a two-time Div. I national qualifier and a 2017 EWL champion. He is built like an ox and usually dominates his competition with pure brute strength. Alexander Lloyd of the Minnesota Storm is only a high school senior but already has excellent credentials in the international styles as he has garnered All-American status in Fargo six times. Jarrett Jacques of Eierman Elite won his third Class I state championship in Missouri this past season. He placed fourth at Fargo during the summer and got an 18-6 tech-fall win over Lloyd. Taylor Nein of Bison Wrestling Club is a freshman at North Dakota State University and was fourth at the UWW Junior Greco tournament at 63 kg. Requir Van der Merwe of Stanford - California RTC is a multiple time Fargo All-American. This weight class is truly up for grabs, with an opportunity presented for some athletes to make names for themselves.


1st – Patricio Lugo of Edinboro Regional Training Center

2nd – Jarrett Jacques of Eierman Elite

3rd – Alexander Lloyd of Minnesota Storm

4th – Taylor Nein of Bison Wrestling Club

Want to read more of this article and others like it? Become a TOM Prime member today!

To Top