College Wrestling News

Looking Ahead: Augsburg and Wartburg Remain Dominant in Division III

2017 D3 Preview

In 1994, Ithaca won the Division III NCAA wrestling national title, giving them three since the tournament began in 1974. That victory put them back ahead of Augsburg, who had won their second title the year before. Ithaca defeated runner-up Wartburg, keeping the Knights from hoisting their first championship trophy. Since that tournament, no program other than Augsburg and Wartburg has won a Division III crown. When Wartburg won their 13th and sixth of the last seven in 2017, it put them back ahead of their rivals up north, 13 titles to 12. The two power programs now own a 25-19 edge over every other school in the division combined when it comes to winning the biggest prize.

Want to read more of this article and others like it? Become a TOM Prime member today!

To Top