College Wrestling News

2017 Big 12 Wrestling Championship Preview

Big 12

The last couple of years have been full of firsts for Big 12 wrestling. Last season, the addition of the former Western Wrestling Conference schools expanded the league to 10 squads after having four or five teams since Colorado dropped their program back in the days of the Big 8. Last year also marked the first time the tournament had ...

Read More »

New NCAA Award Standings After Championship Competition

NCAA Wrestling

INDIANAPOLIS — The NCAA has released the updated standings for the 2017 NCAA Wrestling Awards that will be awarded in March at the respective Division I, II and III Wrestling Championships. Last weekend featured the Pac-12 Championships in Division I, super regionals in Division II and regional competition in Division III. The inaugural NCAA Wrestling Awards were presented at the ...

Read More »

2017 Big Ten Wrestling Championships Preview

Big 10

If you include Ohio State in 2015 when they were Big 10 co-champions with Iowa, the winner of the Big 10 tournament has gone on to win the national tournament every year since Oklahoma State beat Minnesota in 2006.  Four different schools have been part of that run, further reinforcing that the Big 10 is far and away the toughest ...

Read More »

2017 NAIA Wrestling Championship Preview


NAIA Championship Central NAIA Championship Brackets The winner of the NAIA Men’s Wrestling national tournament may seem a foregone conclusion, but the postseason is a place where anything can happen.  Who can forget the years where Oklahoma State seemed poised to take the team title home, but was unable to finish strong.  Do you remember the Iowa Hawkeyes ...

Read More »

Dejournette Named SoCon Wrestler of the Year

Denzel Dejournette - Appalachian State

BOONE, N.C. — Appalachian State University senior heavyweight wrestler Denzel Dejournette (Winston-Salem, N.C./R.J. Reynolds) earned the Southern Conference Wrestler of the Year honors after his performance in crucial and dramatic victories this season for the Mountaineers. Dejournette becomes just the fourth wrestler ever to be named SoCon Wrestler of the Year in consecutive years and the first since Appalachian’s Travis ...

Read More »

2017 MAC Wrestling Championship Preview


Missouri has dominated the MAC since they joined before the 2012-13 season. The Tigers have won all four of conference tournaments since, doing so by wide margins all but once. Before they came along, Central Michigan was the bully on the block, having won 11 consecutive MAC championships from 2002-2012. This year looks to be more of the same with ...

Read More »

Eight Former Members Of Portland State Wrestling Set To Be Inducted To NCAA II Wrestling Hall of Fame

Portland State

The Hall of Fame Committee for the NCAA II Wrestling Coaches Association has announced that on Thursday evening March 9, 2017, eight individuals from the Portland State wrestling program will be inducted into the Division II Wrestling Hall of Fame. The induction will take place at the Sheraton Birmingham located at 2101 Richard Arrington Jr. Boulevard North, Birmingham, Alabama, 35203. ...

Read More »

2017 ACC Wrestling Championships Preview


Raleigh, North Carolina is the site for the 2017 ACC Wrestling Championship, Saturday, March 4th inside Reynolds Coliseum.  The defending champion North Carolina State Wolfpack will try to hang on to their title but will have to stave off a strong Virginia Tech team that is the highest ranked of five ACC teams in TOM's top-25 team rankings.  It has been a ...

Read More »

2017 Eastern Wrestling League (EWL) Tournament Preview

EWL Preview

The Eastern Wrestling League is more of a federation than an actual conference.  Seven schools currently make up the wrestling only league.  Teams like Pittsburgh, Penn State, West Virginia, and Virginia Tech have been part of the EWL in the past and moved on.  Edinboro has been the big dog of the conference since 2000 winning twelve team titles.  Their ...

Read More »

113th EIWA Championships Preview

2017 EIWAs

Before there was an NCAA wrestling championship, the EIWA was already holding a post-season tournament, crowning their first champions in 1905. The oldest wrestling conference in America still includes three of the four founding members (Columbia, Penn, Princeton) with Yale being the notable exception. Having now evolved into a 16-team behemoth, the EIWA will host its 113th championship tournament, known ...

Read More »