Feature Articles

Falcons Edged by North Dakota State, 21-18

FARGO, N.D. – In a dual which was decided in the last bout, the Air Force wrestling team came up short against conference foe North Dakota State, dropping a 21-18 decision Friday evening at the Bison Sports Arena.

North Dakota State (5-6, 2-0 WWC) got out to the early lead, as 20th-ranked Trent Sprenkle earned a fall at 125 pounds to open the match. Meanwhile, the Falcons (6-4, 1-2 WWC) were able to tie the score with wins in the next two bouts, as freshmen Dylan Hyder (Yelm, Wash.) and Carter McElhany (Colorado Springs, Colo.) posted decisions at 133 and 141 pounds, respectively.

Air Force took its first lead of the day when third-ranked Cole VonOhlen (Jr., Jackson, Minn.) recorded a 7-3 decision over Mark Erickson at 149 pounds, but the Bison regained the advantage after 10th-ranked Steven Monk notched a fall in the 157-pound bout. North Dakota State then increased its lead to 15-9 after winning a decision at 165 pounds.

At 174 pounds, junior Clayton Gable (Dallastown, Pa.) came through with a big win for the Falcons, pinning Joe Garner in a time of 1:04 to tie the team score at 15-15. The Bison won the next bout, earning a decision at 184 pounds, while Josh Mohr (Jr., Pewaukee, Wis.) earned a 9-3 decision at 197 pounds, tying the score at 18-18 with just one match remaining.

The heavyweight match-up between the Falcons’ Jared Erickson (Jr., Newton, Utah) and the Bison’s Evan Knutson was scoreless after one period, while Knutson scored a second-period escape to take the lead. Erickson tied the score at 1-1 with an escape of his own to open the final period, but Knutson scored the winning points with an escape in the final minute. With the 3-1 decision by Knutson, North Dakota State came away with the three-point team victory.

The Falcons close out their conference road trip on Sunday, as they visit conference South Dakota State in a 1:00 p.m. (CT) contest.

North Dakota State 21, Air Force 18

125 – No. 20 Trent Sprenkle (NDSU) fall Greg Rinker, 1:58

133 – Dylan Hyder (AF) dec. Justin Solberg, 7-4

141 – Carter McElhany (AF) dec. Tyler Diamond, 9-5

149 – No. 3 Cole VonOhlen (AF) dec. Mark Erickson, 7-3

157 – No. 10 Steven Monk (NDSU) fall Josh Kreimier, 2:03

165 – Tyler Johnson (NDSU) dec. Colby Kluesner, 10-7

174 – Clayton Gable (AF) fall Joe Garner, 1:04

184 – Mac Stoll (NDSU) dec. Greg Isley, 5-2

197 – Josh Mohr (AF) dec. John Gusewelle, 9-3

Hwt – Evan Knutson (NDSU) dec. Jared Erickson, 3-1

To Top