Feature Articles

Four More To Clash X

The field for the Clash X, which is being widely anticipated as the most competitive dual-format tournament, perhaps, ever, has grown to 28 teams today.

Two teams, Anoka and Punahou, have been previous participants at The Clash in previous years. Two, Marist and ACGC, are new.

The tournament, which will be held in Rochester, Minnesota’s UCR Field House on December 30th and 31st this year, features the Top 4 returning teams from last year. Additionally, as many as seven of the nation’s Top 10 ranked teams will be competing there.

New Entry Snapshots:

Anoka, MN – The home of five Olympians including Brandon Paulson and Jake Deichtler, Anoka has won 7 state titles in their history. The Tornados return nationally ranked State Champion, Kyle Begin (170lbs) from their (large school) Class AAA squad. Last participated at The Clash in 2008.

Atwater-Cosgrove-Grove City (ACGC), MN – After a strong showing at the individual tournament, ACGC finished 5th in The Guillotine’s final Single A Class rankings. The Falcons had 10 state qualifiers and five state placers last season. New to The Clash.

Marist, IL – The RedHawks have a long and proud wrestling tradition highlighted by 27 consecutive conference championships from 1980-2007. They were twice team state champs. Last year, the finished 6th in illinoismatmen’s final 3A team rankings. New to The Clash.

Punahou, HI – A private school in the state’s capital, Punahou has won 7 state titles, including the last 5 consecutively from 2007-2011. Last season their team total was 38 points greater than the runners-up. All eight of their state placers last year finished 3rd or better, with seven reaching the finals, and three claiming titles. Competed at The Clash VII in 2009.

To Top