College Wrestling News

2017-18 Eastern Wrestling League (EWL) Preview


The Eastern Wrestling League (EWL) debuted in 1976 with Penn State topping Buffalo, Pitt, Bloomsburg, Clarion, and Lock Haven to win the tournament title.  As the conference evolved, teams such as West Virginia, Millersville, and Virginia Tech cycled through while current members Cleveland State, Edinboro, George Mason, and Rider entered the fray.  Bloomsburg, Clarion, and Lock Haven remain from that initial group, giving the EWL seven teams as it heads into its 43rd season.  Edinboro has been dominant since the Nittany Lions left in 1992, winning all 15 of their conference tournament crowns since.  The Fighting Scots have won three of the last four with Rider the only team to break up that run, claiming the title for themselves in 2016.  This season is shaping up to be a three-team race between Edinboro, Rider, and Lock Haven while a young group at Clarion will attempt to surprise.  Anyone looking to dethrone the defending champions will have to do so in the belly of the beast.  Edinboro hosts the EWL tournament on March 3rd in McComb Fieldhouse.

Join us now as we break down each team's projected lineup, top returners, impact wrestlers, and what we see for them in the coming year.

Want to read more of this article and others like it? Become a TOM Prime member today!

To Top