College Wrestling News

2018 NCWA National Duals Underway


The 2018 NCWA National Duals is the springboard for a team’s national title contention. The NCWA has united its two championship events into a single scoring system, the NCWA Championship Series, which is unique among all other major-college championship sports. The National Duals champion will earn 16 team points which will transfer to the start of the NCWA Championships in March, with the runner-up team earning 15 points, and so on down to one point for 16th place. The team points won at the National Duals will then be added to those earned in the individual brackets at the NCWA Championships in March to determine a true overall national-champion team while keeping intact the traditional individual championships that have been the NCWA’s hallmark season-ending event.


Only one team has repeated as the duals champion in the tournament’s 12-year history. This year is Emmanuel’s chance to take its shot. Grand Valley State swept National Duals titles in a bracket contested at the NWCA National Duals in 2007-08, and the Lakers won again in 2009 when the tournament became an official NCWA-sponsored championship event. The competition gets tough for the defending champions, as only Liberty and Lindenwood-St. Charles (both in 2012 and 2013) were able to even reach the finals match in the year following their National Duals titles.

Full Progam: NCWA 2018 National Duals Program
Full Brackets: NCWA 2018 National Duals Brackets

GET STARTED MORE Join our Student Panel on the Innovators show  every Sunday on KRON-TV Tulane Center for Sport receives $5.5 million gift from Hertz Family Foundation Fordham University, Bronx, New York. Apply for Fordham Universitys $20,000 Deans Scholarship
To Top