College Wrestling News

All-Ivy Teams released, Cornell’s Garrett named Wrestler of the Year

By The Ivy League

PRINCETON, N.J. — For the second-straight season and the ninth time in program history, Cornell has swept the Ivy League wrestling postseason awards.

Big Red sophomore Nahshon Garrett (125 – Chico, Calif.) and freshman Gabe Dean (184 – Lowell, Mich.) were each unanimous selections for Wrestler and Rookie of the Year, respectively, marking the second-straight year both recipients were unanimously given their awards.

It is the first time in seven years that Cornell has gone back-to-back in earning both Wrestler and Rookie of the Year honors. In 2004-05, Travis Lee was named Wrestler of the Year and Jordan Leen earned Rookie of the Year. In 2005-06, Troy Nickerson took home both awards.

Garrett, who was a unanimous selection for Rookie of the Year in 2012-13, becomes the first Big Red to earn Wrestler of the Year one season after being named Rookie of the Year since Lee accomplished the feat in 2002-03. Garrett’s award gives Cornell six-consecutive Wrestler of the Year awards.

The Big Red sophomore, ranked No. 1 at 125-pounds, is 27-1 on the year, with three tournament titles under his belt. He was a unanimous selection for first-team All-Ivy for the second-straight year.

Dean, meanwhile, is currently 31-2 on the year with his only losses coming to the top two wrestlers at 184-pounds. He went 4-0 in Ivy duals meets and was also unanimously voted first-team All-Ivy by the coaches.

Garrett and Dean were two of 10 Big Red wrestlers to be named All-Ivy, as Cornell earned an All-Ivy honor for each weight class. That group includes a League-best seven on the first team, all of whom were unanimous selections. The seven first-team all-Ivy selections is the second-most in school history after having eight chosen during the 2009-10 campaign.

Senior Mike Nevinger (141 – Perry, N.Y.) was named to the first-team after back-to-back years as an honorable mention. Nevinger went 5-0 in Ivy duals and is 11-2 on the year. Senior Chris Villalonga (149 – Totowa, N.J.), who earned second-team All-Ivy status each of the past two seasons, also took home his first career first-team honor thanks to a 27-3 season, including a 3-0 mark against Ivy opponents.

Dean was not the only Big Red freshman to be honored, as Brian Realbuto (157 – Somers, N.Y.) and Dylan Palacio (165 – Long Beach, N.Y.) also found their way onto the first team. Finally, junior Jacob Aiken-Phillips (285 – Lawrenceville, Ga.) earned his second-straight first-team honor, but first as a unanimous selection.

Columbia placed a pair of wrestlers on the first team in sophomore Angelo Amenta (133 – Oregon, Ohio) and junior Shane Hughes (174 – Sussex, Wis.), the latter unanimously. Amenta is 15-9 on the year with three major decisions, while Hughes is 18-6 with seven falls and five major decisions.

Harvard junior James Fox (197 – Plainfield, N.J.), the last of the nine unanimous selections to the first team, earned his second-straight All-Ivy honor after being named to the second team a year ago.

Penn led the League with four second-team recipients in freshman Caleb Richardson (125 – Virginia Beach, Va.) and sophomores Ray Bethea (157 – Trenton, N.J.) and Casey Kent (165 – Norristown, Pa.), as well as the 2011-12 Rookie of the Year in junior Lorenzo Thomas (184 – Pittsburgh).

Princeton junior Adam Krop (149 – Urbana, Md.) earned a spot on the second team for the second time in his career and the first since 2011-12. Brown, meanwhile, saw a pair of Bears get placed on the second team in junior Ricky McDonald (174 – Carson City, Nev.) and freshman Ryder Cavey (285 – Eldersburg, Md.). Cavey is the first Brown freshman to be named All-Ivy since his teammate junior Ophir Bernstein (184 – Allen, Texas) in 2011-12. Bernstein took home honorable mention accolades this season, his third-straight All-Ivy honor.

*Nahshon Garrett, Cornell (So., 125 – Chico, Calif.)

*Gabe Dean, Cornell (Fr., 184 – Lowell, Mich.)

*Nahshon Garrett, Cornell (So., 125 – Chico, Calif.)
Angelo Amenta, Columbia (So., 133 – Oregon, Ohio)
*Mike Nevinger, Cornell (Sr., 141 – Perry, N.Y.)
*Chris Villalonga, Cornell (Sr., 149 – Totowa, N.J.)
*Brian Realbuto, Cornell (Fr., 157 – Somers, N.Y.)
*Dylan Palacio, Cornell (Fr., 165 – Long Beach, N.Y.)
*Shane Hughes, Columbia (Jr., 174 – Sussex, Wis.)
*Gabe Dean, Cornell (Fr., 184 – Lowell, Mich.)
*James Fox, Harvard (Jr., 197 – Plainfield, N.J.)
*Jacob Aiken-Phillips, Cornell (Jr., 285 – Lawrenceville, Ga.)

Penn Gottfriend, Columbia (Sr., 125 – Hartsdale, N.Y.)
Caleb Richardson, Penn (Fr., 125 – Virginia Beach, Va.)
Mark Grey, Cornell (Fr., 133 – Rockaway, N.J.)
Todd Preston, Harvard (So., 141 – Hampton, N.J.)
Adam Krop, Princeton (Jr., 149 – Urbana, Md.)
Ray Bethea, Penn (So., 157 – Trenton, N.J.)
Casey Kent, Penn (So., 165 – Norristown, Pa.)
Ricky McDonald, Brown (Jr., 174 – Carson City, Nev.)
Lorenzo Thomas, Penn (Jr., 184 – Pittsburgh)
Jace Bennett, Cornell (Jr., 197 – Amarillo, Texas)
Ryder Cavey, Brown (Fr., 285 – Eldersburg, Md.)

Anthony Finocchiaro, Brown (So., 133 – Canastota, N.Y.)
Jeff Canfora, Penn (Jr., 141 – East Hanover, N.J.)
Kevin Moylan, Princeton (So., 157 – Palos Park, Ill.)
Josh Houldsworth, Columbia (Sr., 165 – White Lake, Mich.)
Duke Pickett, Cornell (So., 174 – Culpeper, Va.)
Ophir Bernstein, Brown (Jr., 184 – Allen, Texas)
Abram Ayala, Princeton (So., 197 – Ft. Lauderdale, Fla.)
David Ng, Harvard (Jr., 285 – Massapequa, N.Y.)

*Unanimous selection
^Second team expanded to 11 due to ties in the voting

GET STARTED MORE Join our Student Panel on the Innovators show  every Sunday on KRON-TV Tulane Center for Sport receives $5.5 million gift from Hertz Family Foundation Fordham University, Bronx, New York. Apply for Fordham Universitys $20,000 Deans Scholarship
To Top