College Wrestling News

Awarding Co-Hodge Trophy Winners in 2021 Sets a Bad Precedent

The Hodge Trophy is considered the Heisman Trophy for amateur wrestling and has been presented to the nation's best wrestler since 1995. This year, both Iowa's Spencer Lee and Minnesota's Gable Steveson were awarded the 2021 Hodge Trophy.

There was only one other time in the trophy's illustrious history where there has been co-winners. In 2001, Nick Ackerman (174 pounds at Simpson College) and Cael Sanderson (184 pounds at Iowa State) shared the award.

While both Lee (125 pounds) and Steveson (Heavyweight) were equally qualified Hodge hopefuls in their own right, awarding co-winners in 2021 was the wrong decision. Here is why:

Want to read more of this article and others like it? Become an TOM Prime Member for as low as $2.22/month!

Members Login Below.

*All subscriptions are billed on 1-year, 2-year, or 3-year basis.

To Top