College Wrestling News

COLLEGE WRESTLING: UW-L captures 12th consecutive WIAC crown

OSHKOSH, Wis. — The UW-La Crosse wrestling team captured its 12th straight Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Championship on Sunday night in Kolf Sports Center at UW-Oshkosh.

The Eagles finished with 146 points while UW-Stevens Point was second with 144 and UW-Whitewater third with 126.

UW-L had five wrestlers capture individual titles. Albie McKinney (125 pounds), Matt Mauseth (149), Mike Schmitz (174), Josh Zabel (184) and Dan Laurent (285) won their championship matches and automatically qualified for the NCAA Division III Championships March 6-7 in Cedar Rapids, Iowa.

UW-L coach Dave Malecek was named coach of the year.

Laurent became the fifth wrestler in WIAC history to win a weight class three consecutive seasons, while Mauseth defended his title at 149 pounds.

UW-L’s Cory Ferguson (165) and Andy Moore (197) received at-large bids for the national tournament.

To Top