College Wrestling News

D1CollegeWrestling.net (D1CW) has released its 2008-09 National and Conference Awards

The Open Mat.com

By: D1CW (Original Here)

D1CollegeWrestling.net (D1CW) has released its 2008-09 National and Conference Awards, as well as an All-Freshman Team. The recipients of the National Awards are as follows: D1CW Wrestler of the Year-Jake Herbert (Northwestern), D1CW Coach of the Year-Tom Ryan (Ohio State), D1CW Freshman of the Year-Andrew Howe.
D1CW National Wrestler of the Year-Jake Herbert (Northwestern)

After a year away from the collegiate mats, with an Olympic Redshirt, Jake Herbert did not miss a beat. He finished his senior season undefeated with his second NCAA Championships. Herbert, who finished 2008-09 34-0, ended his career with 66 straight matches. Jake will go down as one of the All-Time greats in Northwestern history after finishing in the top 3 of the NCAA Championships all four seasons, winning 3 Big Ten titles, and the Hodge Trophy.

D1CW National Coach of the Year-Tom Ryan (Ohio State)

For the second consecutive season Tom Ryan led the Ohio State Buckeyes to a 2nd place finish at the NCAA Championships. The Buckeye wrestlers were able to peak at the right time of the season after finishing 6th at the Big Ten Championships. In 2008 the Bucks finished 5th at the Big Ten. OSU was the only team in 2009 with three NCAA Finalists, Reece Humphrey (133), J Jaggers (141) and Mike Pucillo (184). Jaggers captured his second NCAA title.

D1CW National Freshman of the Year-Andrew Howe (Wisconsin)

At the 2009 NCAA Championships Andrew Howe was the only freshman to make the finals, finishing second to Edinboro’s Jarrod King. Howe did so as a true freshman at 165 lbs. He earned the #2 seed after winning the Big Ten Championships. Andrew won his last 19 matches entering the finals.
Also D1CW has selected a Wrestler, Coach, and Freshman of the Year for each conference. The recipients are:
ACC Wrestler of the Year-Darrion Caldwell (NC State)
ACC Coach of the Year-Kerry McCoy (Maryland)
ACC Freshman of the Year-Jarrod Garnett (Virginia Tech)
Big Ten Wrestler of the Year-Jake Herbert (Northwestern)
Big Ten Coach of the Year-Tom Ryan (Ohio State)
Big Ten Freshman of the Year-Andrew Howe (Wisconsin)
Big Twelve Wrestler of the Year-Jordan Burroughs (Nebraska)
Big Twelve Coach of the Year-Mark Manning (Nebraska)
Big Twelve Freshman of the Year-Tucker Lane (Nebraska)
CAA Wrestler of the Year-Ryan Williams (Old Dominion)
CAA Coach of the Year-Steve Martin (Old Dominion)
CAA Freshman of the Year-Bagna Tovuujav (George Mason)
East Region Wrestler of the Year-Matt Cathell (Delaware State)
East Region Coach of the Year-Jesse Castro (Liberty)
East Region Freshman of the Year-Shane Smith (Millersville)
EIWA Wrestler of the Year-Troy Nickerson (Cornell)
EIWA Coach of the Year-Pat Santoro (Lehigh)
EIWA Freshman of the Year-Cam Simaz (Cornell)
EWL Wrestler of the Year-Jarrod King (Edinboro)
EWL Coach of the Year-Tim Flynn (Edinboro)
EWL Freshman of the Year-Tyler Nauman (Pittsburgh)
MAC Wrestler of the Year-Mike Miller (Central Michigan)
MAC Coach of the Year-Jim Andrassy (Kent State)
MAC Freshman of the Year-Scotti Sentes (Central Michigan)
Pac 10 Wrestler of the Year-Andrew Hochstrasser (Boise State)
Pac 10 Coach of the Year-TJ Kerr (Cal-State Bakersfield)
Pac 10 Freshman of the Year-Jason Chamberlain (Boise State)
SoCon Wrestler of the Year-Cody Cleveland (UT-Chattanooga)
SoCon Coach of the Year-Chris Bono (UT-Chattanooga)
SoCon Freshman of the Year-Jason McCroskey (UT-Chattanooga)
West Region Wrestler of the Year-Moza Fay (Northern Iowa)
West Region Coach of the Year-Mark Branch (Wyoming)
West Region Freshman of the Year-Joe LeBlanc (Wyoming)

Also released is D1CW’s All-Freshman Team which consists of:
125-Zach Sanders (Minnesota), 133-Kelly Kubec (Oregon State), 141-Frank Molinaro (Penn State), 149-Jason Chamberlain (Boise State), 157-Jason Welch (Northwestern), 165-Andrew Howe (Wisconsin), 174-Quentin Wright (Penn State), 184-Joe LeBlanc (Wyoming), 197-Cam Simaz (Cornell), 285-Zach Rey (Lehigh)

To Top