College Wrestling News

Five Semifinalists Give Nebraska a One-Point Lead after Day One at the CKLV


photo courtesy of Cam Kramer

The 2019 Cliff Keen Las Vegas Invitational was billed as a battle of the heavyweights and after one day of competition, it lived up to its billing. Five of the top nine teams in the nation, in tournament rankings, were in attendance. Each of them threw punches and counterpunches throughout the quarterfinals. When the dust settled, Nebraska sits only one point ahead of second-place Ohio State. Tomorrow should feature an incredible team race, as both schools have five semifinalists. They will go head-to-head in two of those semis (141 and 165 lbs). Not far behind the two top schools is Arizona State who has benefitted from bonus points. Three of their four finalists earned bonus, including two tech falls. 

Individually, all ten number one seeds are still alive on the championship side. Only one two seed fell in the quarters (Jay Aiello – Virginia/197). A one seed that narrowly escaped was Max Thomsen (Northern Iowa) at 149 lbs. Thomsen rode Yahya Thomas (Northwestern) for the entire third period, in a 4-4 match, and, as the clock turned to double zeros, Thomsen locked up riding time. Max’s Panthers led Nebraska by a point and a half after the first session, despite having only four quarterfinalists, compared to ten for the Cornhuskers. Three UNI wrestlers pushed through to the semis and have head coach Doug Schwab’s team sitting within striking distance in fourth place. 

One of the marquee matches of the quarterfinal round took place at 141 lbs between two-time All-American Chad Red (Nebraska) and 2018 AA, Tariq Wilson (NC State). A shootout was expected with two high-scoring competitors in action, but Red quickly locked up a cradle and needed only 33 seconds to dispatch of his Wolfpack opponent. 

184 lbs was billed as the deepest weight of the tournament. Seven of the top eight wrestlers in the nation at the weight class were entered. The best match of that bracket saw the second-seed, Taylor Lujan (Northern Iowa), edge Hunter Bolen (Virginia Tech) 10-8 in a wild affair. 

The first two weight classes saw unseeded underdogs advance to the semis. At 125 lbs, Northwestern’s Jack DeAugustino cruised 12-5 over another unseeded opponent, Jack Medley (Michigan). In his previous match, DeAugustino knocked off the fifth seed, Jay Schwarm (Northern Iowa), 4-2. 133 had a pair of unseeded wrestlers crash the finals with Ridge Lovett (Nebraska) and Dylan Koontz (Ohio State). Lovett, who was pulled from redshirt two weeks ago, crushed the third seed, Taylor LaMont (Utah Valley), in the opening round and used a riding time point to edge Louie Hayes (Virginia), 8-7. Koontz, not the usual starter for the Buckeyes, upset the fifth-seed, Josh Kramer (Arizona State) in his first match. To advance to the semi, Koontz had a video review overturned in his favor with :01 left on the clock to knock off Jarrett Trombley (NC State), 5-4.

Team Scores after Day One

1st: Nebraska  69

2nd: Ohio State  68

3rd: Arizona State  60.5

4th: Northern Iowa  58

5th: Purdue  53.5

6th: Iowa State  45.5

6th: Minnesota  45.5

8th: Oklahoma  44.5

9th: NC State  41.5

10th: Northwestern  37

Quarterfinal Results

125 – Jack Mueller (UVA) maj Patrick McKee (Minn)  16-4

125 – Michael DeAugustino (NW) dec Jack Medley (Mich)

125 – Devin Schroder (Pur) fall Brian Courtney (ASU)  6:03

125 – Alex Mackall (ISU) dec Alex Thomsen (Neb)  7-6TB

133 – Chas Tucker (Cor) dec Collin Gerardi (VT)  6-3

133 – Dylan Koontz (OSU) dec Jarrett Trombley (NCS)  5-4

133 – Ridge Lovett (Neb) dec Louie Hayes (UVA)  8-7

133 – Montorie Bridges (Wyo) dec Tim Rooney (KSU)  6-4

141 – Luke Pletcher (OSU) tech Cole Mattin (Mich)  26-11

141 – Chad Red (Neb) fall Tariq Wilson (NCS)  :33

141 – Mitch McKee (Minn) maj Ian Parker (ISU)  8-0

141 – Dom Demas (OU) dec Mitch Moore (VT)  6-4

149 – Max Thomsen (UNI) dec Yahya Thomas (NW)  5-4

149 – Brayton Lee (Minn) dec Brock Zacherl (Cla)  8-3

149 – Sammy Sasso (OSU) fall Griffin Parriott (Pur)  4:49

149 – Jarrett Degan (ISU) dec Collin Purinton (Neb)  10-9

157 – Hayden Hidlay (NCS) dec Peyton Robb (Neb)  3-2

157 – Kendall Coleman (Pur) dec Justin McCoy (UVA)  6-3

157 – David Carr (ISU) dec Justin Thomas (OU)  6-5

157 – Ryan Deakin (NW) dec Jacori Teemer (ASU)  8-5

165 – Isaiah White (Neb) dec Bailee O’Reilly (Minn)  9-5

165 – Ethan Smith (OSU) dec Thomas Bullard (NCS)  4-3

165 – Andrew Fogarty (NDSU) maj Phil Conigliaro (Har)  8-0

165 – Josh Shields (ASU) tech Emil Soehnlen (Pur)  19-4

174 – Bryce Steiert (UNI) dec Jackson Hemauer (FSU)  4-3

174 – Anthony Valencia (ASU) maj Marcus Coleman (ISU)  15-6

174 – Dylan Lydy (Pur) dec Anthony Mantanona (OU)  5-3

174 – Mike Labriola (Neb) dec Kaleb Romero (OSU)  2-1

184 – Zahid Valencia (ASU) tech Sam Colbray (ISU)  26-8

184 – Louie Deprez (Bing) dec Taylor Venz (Neb)  7-4

184 – Trent Hidlay (NCS) dec Owen Webster (Minn)  7-4

184 – Taylor Lujan (UNI) dec Hunter Bolen (UNI)  10-8

197 – Kollin Moore (OSU) dec Kordell Norfleet (ASU)  5-3

197 – Tom Lane (CP) dec Eric Schultz (Neb)  6-4

197 – Jake Woodley (OU) dec Tanner Sloan (SDSU)  5-3

197 – Christian Brunner (Pur) dec Jay Aiello (UVA)  4-2

285 – Mason Parris (Mich) fall Carter Isley (UNI)  :54

285 – Christian Lance (Neb) maj Randy Gonzalez (FSU)  15-5

285 – Tanner Hall (ASU) dec Brian Andrews (Wyo)  2-1

285 – Tate Orndorff (UVU) dec Gannon Gremmel (Wyo)  7-3


To Top