College Wrestling News

Getting II Know a DII Program: Notre Dame


photo courtesy of NDC athletics

Arguably the program with the most success in the shortest amount of time in NCAA Division II wrestling history, the Falcons of Notre Dame College have two team National Championships and 12 individual National Champions in just eight years as a DII program. Long-time NDC assistant coach Sonny Marchette just closed out his first season as the head coach of the Falcons, in which he led Notre Dame to its fourth-straight and seventh total DII Super Regional title in 2020.

“We have an elite wrestling program that thrives on developing our student-athletes each and everyday,” Marchette said of his program.

Included in the 12 Falcon National Champions is the only four-time, undefeated NCAA Division II Champion ever in Joey Davis. From 2013-16, Davis went 131-0, capping each of his four seasons with an NCAA Division II National Championship. Davis won the 165 title in 2013, 174 in both 2014 and 2015, and closed out his career with a 184 title in 2016.  Notre Dame has put at least one Falcon atop the podium in six of its eight seasons in NCAA Division II, with Hunter Bray ranked #1 at 133 coming into the cancelled 2020 NCAA Division II National Championships.

Bray returns for the 2020-21 season for Marchette, as a two-time All-American after a third place finish in 2019 and NWCA All-American honors last season. He will be joined by 2019 National Qualifier Bobby Campos at125, two-time All-American Kelan McKenna at 141 and 2020 NWCA All-American and NCAA Division II Most Dominant Wrestler Jared Campbell at 285. Six starters in total return for the Falcons, with another five student-athletes coming off of redshirt. After a recruiting class of between 12-15, Marchette will look to welcome a roster of between 35-45 for the 2020-21 season.

To Top