College Wrestling News

Getting II Know a DII Program: University of Mary


photo courtesy of UMary athletics

The UMary Marauders first competed in NCAA Division II in 2007-08, and in their 13 years as DII members, Mary has sent a total of 13 wrestlers to the NCAA Division II National Championships. Eight of those Marauders have earned All-American honors, with the highest individual finish for Mary being fifth, by four of its All-Americans. Tate Barnhardt was the latest to take fifth, doing so at 133 in 2019.

Adam Aho just closed out his seventh season as the head of the UMary program, during which he has mentored five of the Marauder All-Americans. Aho explained  that the Mary program is based around this statement: “We can either live our lives out of gratitude or resentment – there is no middle ground.”

“We work hard, play hard,” Aho said. “We are passionate about wrestling and we are here to develop meaningful relationships on our journey to success.”

Two returning All-Americans will be back for Aho’s 2020-21 team in Braydon Huber and Phillip Springsteen. Both earned NWCA All-American honors this past season, while Springsteen was also an All-American in 2019 with a seventh place finish at 174. In total, Mary will return nine starters next season, and will also gain two key wrestlers off of redshirt in the form of Chandler Mooney and Matt Kaylor. After the addition of a recruiting class that features Minnesota, North Dakota and Wisconsin products, Mary will look to field a roster of just more than 30 for next season. 

To Top