College Wrestling News

Hawkeyes win Big Ten wrestling, 2 champs

By J.R. Ogden
The Gazette (original)

STATE COLLEGE, PA. – The top-ranked University of Iowa wrestling team won the Big Ten title for the second year in a row, crowning two champions and totaling 141 points at the Bryce Jordan Center on the Penn State campus.

Illinois finished second, followed by Michigan and Wisconsin.

Brent Metcalf won his second Big Ten title at 149, pinning Penn State’s Bubba Jenkins in the finals and earning the Outstanding Wrestler award for the second year in a row. Dan Erekson won for Iowa at heavyweight.

Charlie Falck at 125 and Jay Borschel at 174 finished third, Alex Tsirtsis at 141 and Chad Beatty at 197 were fourth and Daniel Dennis placed fifth at 133.

Iowa will send nine wrestlers to the NCAA Championships.

“We’ve got a lot of tough guys in our room … and they are getting tougher,” said Iowa Coach Tom Brands, named Coach of the Year for the second year in a row.

To Top