The league office announced Iowa State’s David Carr is the 2021 Big 12 Wrestler of the Year. The conference’s 12 head coaches voted on the honor. Carr is the first Cyclone to earn this distinction since the award’s inception in 2016.

Carr finished the pandemic-altered 2021 campaign as the 157-pound National Champion by beating Rider’s Jesse Dellavecchia by a 4-0 decision and becoming the first Cyclone to win a national title since 2015. He repeated as Big 12 Champion at 157 and finished 8-0 against conference foes.

The Hodge Trophy finalist was the only Big 12 wrestler to finish the season undefeated, completing the year with a perfect 20-0 mark. The Canton, Ohio, native held an unblemished 11-0 mark against opponents ranked in the top-20.

Carr registered a 65% bonus-rate (five majors, four techs, and four pins) while recording a stellar 60-1 takedown differential during the season. The two-time All-American did not surrender a takedown at the NCAA Championships in St. Louis.