College Wrestling News

Jim Zalesky Named Pac-12 Wrestling Coach Of The Year

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. – Oregon State wrestling’s Jim Zalesky has been named the Pac-12 Conference’s Coach of The Year, the league announced on Thursday.

Zalesky led the Beavers to their third Pac-12 championship in the last six seasons and the team’s 10th-place finish at the NCAA Championships was the Beavers’ best mark since the 1998 team finished ninth.

Four Beavers won Pac-12 individual titles under Zalesky in 2011-12 – Mike Mangrum, Scott Sakaguchi, RJ Pena and Clayton Jack. Mangrum, Sakaguchi and Jack also earned All-American honors, the most in a year for the Beavers since 1996.

In his six years at Oregon State, Zalesky has gone 76-29. He has mentored six All-Americans and 11 conference champions. The Beavers have won league titles under Zalesky in 2007 and 2010 in addition to this year’s championship.

The Beavers finished 10-3 as a team in dual meets in 2011-12, the 14th consecutive year in which Oregon State finished in double-digit victories.

FOR MORE INFORMATION, contact Hank Hager at (541) 737-7472.

To Top