College Wrestling News

Jordan Burroughs to be Inducted to the University of Nebraska Athletic Hall of Fame in October of 2021

Graphic courtesy of Nebraska Athletics. 

On Wednesday, June 9, Jordan Burroughs was one of six former Huskers selected to be in the 2021 University of Nebraska Athletic Hall of Fame class.

The most decorated wrestler in Nebraska’s history and one of the most accomplished freestyle wrestlers worldwide, Burroughs is a four-time World champion and an Olympian, having competed in the 2012 and 2016 Summer Olympics, taking home a gold medal in London in 2012.

Each of the six 2021 inductees accomplished a historic “first” in their respective sports both at Nebraska and internationally, and Burroughs is no exception.

At Nebraska, he was a two-time NCAA national champion (2009 and 2011) and three-time Big 12 champ (2008, 2009, and 2011). Additionally, Burroughs was awarded the prestigious Dan Hodge Trophy after his final season in Lincoln in 2011. He finished his junior and senior years at Nebraska with an undefeated record and completed his college career with a 105-7 overall record.

Just as the New Jersey native ended his college career with a bang, he started his freestyle career with an equally impressive run. The former Nebraska standout won his first 69 international matches, the longest winning streak ever by an American wrestler on the Senior level. Over that span, Burroughs brought home a pair of World Championship titles and a gold medal at the 2012 Olympics.

A two-time Olympian, Burroughs ranks second in the history of U.S. Wrestling with five combined Olympic and World Championship titles and eight combined medals.

After the United States Olympic Team Trials in 2021, were Burroughs lost a grueling best-of-three series to Kyle Dake, narrowly missing a berth in the Tokyo Games later this summer. Currently, Burroughs has an international career record of 197-14.

The class will have their names added to the University of Nebraska Athletic of Fame Plaza. The Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony will take place on Oct. 1.

To Top