College Wrestling News

NCAA Releases DI Qualifier Allocations for 2020

DI Venue

photo courtesy of Sam Janicki; SJanickiPhoto.com

INDIANAPOLIS — The NCAA has announced the qualifier allocations for the 2020 NCAA Division I Wrestling Championships as listed in the chart below.

Each qualifying tournament was awarded automatic bids per weight class based on current year data. Each wrestler was measured on the following: Division I winning percentage at the weight class; ratings percentage index (RPI); and coaches’ ranking.

For each wrestler that reached the threshold in at least two of the three categories, his conference tournament was awarded a qualifying spot in that weight class. Each conference was awarded a minimum of one automatic bid per weight class, which will go to the tournament champion, even if they did not have any wrestlers reach at least two of the three thresholds. NCAA tournament spots for each qualifying event will be awarded at the tournament based solely on place-finish.

After all of the conference tournaments have concluded, the NCAA Division I Wrestling Committee will meet in-person to select the remaining 47 at-large qualifiers, which will be announced on March 10, while brackets and seeding will be announced on NCAA.com at 6 p.m. on March 11. All weight classes will consist of 33 wrestlers. The at-large selections will be made based on the following criteria: head-to-head competition; quality wins; coaches’ ranking; results against common opponents; RPI; qualifying event placement; and winning percentage.

Big 12485554556754
Big Ten87810689106779

The coaches’ rankings are determined by a vote of 14 coaches in each weight class with two head coaches from each of the seven conferences (ACC, Big Ten, Big 12, EIWA, MAC, Pac-12 and SoCon), which is double the voters that had previously been used for the coaches’ panel rankings. For ranking purposes, coaches may only consider a wrestler that has been designated as a starter at a respective weight class. Wrestlers must have participated in at least five matches against Division I opponents in the weight class and have wrestled within the last 30 days to be ranked.

The RPI is a calculation that considers a wrestler’s winning percentage, opponent winning percentage (strength of schedule) and opponent’s opponent winning percentage (opponent’s strength of schedule). Only matches against Division I opponents at the designated weight class count towards the RPI and a wrestler needs to have wrestled 15 matches to be ranked.

Seth Gross of Wisconsin (133 pounds), Ryan Deakin of Northwestern (157) and Kollin Moore of Ohio State (197) are all ranked No. 1 by both the coaches and in the RPI.

The remaining top-ranked wrestlers by the coaches are Spencer Lee of Iowa (125), Nick Lee of Penn State (141), Sammy Sasso of Ohio State (149), Vincenzo Joseph of Penn State (165), Michael Kemerer of Iowa (174), Taylor Lujan of Northern Iowa (184) and Gable Steveson of Minnesota (heavyweight).

The remaining top-rated wrestlers in the RPI include Pat Glory of Princeton (125), Luke Pletcher of Ohio State (141), Pat Lugo of Iowa (149), Shane Griffith of Stanford (165), Jordan Kutler of Lehigh (174), Hunter Bolen of Virginia Tech (184) and Mason Parris of Michigan (heavyweight).

For tickets or more information about the 2020 NCAA Division I Wrestling Championships in Minneapolis, visit http://www.ncaa.com/wrestling.

To Top