College Wrestling News

Ranking the Seasons of the Last Ten Hodge Trophy Winners

Taylor, David

photo courtesy of Austin Bernard; OklahomaWrestling.com

With word coming out on Monday that Bo Nickal had won the 2019 Hodge Trophy, Bo officially joined an elite fraternity of the best-of-the-best in our great sport. Tomorrow we’ll get into some of the greats that have not won the award since its inception in 1995. For now, we will try to figure out Nickal’s place amongst these legendary grapplers. TOM has found the key stats from the last ten Hodge Trophy winners and ranked their Hodge winning seasons from 10-1 (1 being the most impressive). Of course, when comparing such outstanding wrestlers, the slightest difference could play one above another. Frankly, you have to be very nitpicky when trying to separate some of these incredible seasons. Also, we are only considering their Hodge winning seasons, not their entire collegiate career or any international accomplishments that would come down the road. Interestingly enough, five of the last ten Hodge Trophy’s have been awarded to 165 lbers. It probably explains how tough we are internationally between the 74-86 kg weight classes right now.

10) 2016 - Alex Dieringer (Oklahoma State)

Hodge Trophy Winning Season Stats: 33-0 record; 8 major decisions; 7 technical falls; 12 pins. 81% of his wins came with bonus points. Pinned 36% of his opponents. Received 27 of 45 first-place votes. Runner-Up: Zain Retherford (Penn State)

Want to read more of this article and others like it? Become an TOM Prime Member for as low as $2.22/month!

Members Login Below.

*All subscriptions are billed on 1-year, 2-year, or 3-year basis.

To Top