College Wrestling News

Stieber Named Male Athlete of the Year by Touchdown Club of Columbus

Logan Stieber

COLUMBUS, Ohio – Redshirt senior Logan Stieber has been named the 2014 Male Athlete of the Year by the Touchdown Club of Columbus, the organization announced today.

Already part of elite company as a three-time national champion, Stieber is looking to become just the fourth wrestler in NCAA history to win four titles. He capped his 2013-14 campaign by leading the nation with 11 technical falls and 28 victories out of 30 were bonus point wins. In all, Stieber collected seven major decisions and 10 falls to go along with his 11 technical falls.

So far this year, Stieber (141 lbs.) is 12-0 with five technical falls, four pins and three major decisions. A two-time Big Ten Wrestler of the Week, he became the fastest Buckeye to reach the 100-win mark (103 matches) and his current winning percentage of .971 ranks first in school history. Last month at the highly-competitive CKLV Invitational, he won the 141-pound title, becoming just the second wrestler in NCAA history to win four CKLV championships.

The 60th Touchdown Club of Columbus Awards will be presented on Saturday, February 7, 2015 at The Sheraton Capitol Square in Columbus, Ohio.  Stieber joins last year’s winner Keenan Reynolds (Navy), as well as former scholar/athlete winners Chandler Harnish (Northern Illinois), Myron Rolle (Florida State), and Gulf War veteran Jake Coffman.

Stieber and the Buckeyes return to action on Sunday, Jan. 11 when they host third-ranked Penn State at St. John Arena. Action gets underway at 2 p.m. and tickets can be purchased by clicking here.

To Top