College Wrestling News

Which Schools and Coaches Produce the Most DI Head Coaches


photo courtesy of AP

Over the years we have seen the famous “Dan Gable Coaching Tree” which lists the coaches at all levels of our sport that wrestled for the legendary coach Dan Gable. With all of the transition we have had at the DI level, on the coaching front or the past few years, its time to look back and see which schools and head coaches have been able to produce the most DI head coaches. As you would guess Iowa currently has the most grads who are now head coaches, but there are others closing in. Below are the current DI head coaches, listed with their alma mater’s first and with their present-day job in parentheses and their collegiate head coach listed last.

American – Kyle Borshoff (Binghamton) — Mark Cody

American – Rob Hjerling (The Citadel) — Brian Shaffer


Arizona State – Zeke Jones (Arizona State) — Bobby Douglas


Ashland – Marcus Gordon (Bloomsburg) — Ray Kowatch


Bloomsburg – Frank Beasley (George Mason) — John Stutzman


Buffalo – John Stutzman (Buffalo) — Jim Beichner


Chattanooga – Jon Sioredas (Cal Poly) — Terry Brands


Central Michigan – Jason Borrelli (Central Michigan) — Tom Borrelli


Cornell – Troy Nickerson (Northern Colorado) — Rob Koll


Edinboro – Jim Gibson (VMI) — Tim Flynn

Edinboro – Matt Hill (Edinboro) — Tim Flynn

Edinboro – Tony Robie (Virginia Tech) — Bruce Baumgartner

Edinboro – Lou Rosselli (Oklahoma) — Bruce Baumgartner


Findlay – Ryan Ludwig (Northern Illinois) — Shawn Nelson


Franklin & Marshall – Jay Weiss (Harvard) — Mark Faller


Gardner-Webb – Daniel Elliott (Gardner-Webb) — Dick Wince


Hofstra – Dennis Papadatos (Hofstra) — Tom Ryan


Indiana – Roger Chandler (Michigan State) — Duane Goldman

Indiana – Angel Escobedo (Indiana) — Duane Goldman


Iowa – Tom Brands (Iowa) — Dan Gable

Iowa – Kevin Dresser (Iowa State) — Dan Gable

Iowa – Tony Ersland (Purdue) — Dan Gable

Iowa – Jim Heffernan (Illinois) — Dan Gable

Iowa – Steve Martin (Old Dominion) — Dan Gable

Iowa – Tom Ryan (Ohio State) — Dan Gable

Iowa – Doug Schwab (Northern Iowa) — Jim Zalesky

Iowa – Joel Sharratt (Navy) — Dan Gable

Iowa – Troy Steiner (Fresno State) – Dan Gable

Iowa – Jim Zalesky (Oregon State) — Dan Gable


Iowa State – Matt Azevedo (Drexel) — Bobby Douglas

Iowa State – Chris Bono (Wisconsin) — Bobby Douglas

Iowa State – Cael Sanderson (Penn State) — Bobby Douglas


Kent State – Jim Andrassy (Kent State) — Ron Gray


Lehigh – Chris Ayres (Princeton) — Greg Strobel


Lock Haven – Keith Ferraro (Clarion) — Rocky Bonomo

Lock Haven – Scott Goodale (Rutgers) — Carl Poff

Lock Haven – Cary Kolat (Campbell) — Carl Poff

Lock Haven – Mike Rogers (Franklin & Marshall) — Carl Poff


Lycoming – Andy Lausier (Davidson) — Roger Crebs


Michigan – Sean Bormet (Michigan) — Dale Bahr


Michigan State – Brian Smith (Missouri) — Phil Parker

Michigan State – Dan Wirnsberger (Bucknell) — Tom Minkel


Minnesota – Brandon Eggum (Minnesota) — J Robinson

Minnesota – Damion Hahn (South Dakota State) — J Robinson

Minnesota – Roger Kish (North Dakota State) — J Robinson

Minnesota – Manny Rivera (CSU Bakersfield) — J Robinson


Missouri – Jeremy Spates (SIU Edwardsville) — Brian Smith


Nebraska – Todd Beckerman (Brown) — Mark Manning


Nebraska-Omaha – Mark Manning (Nebraska) — Mike Denney


North Carolina – JohnMark Bentley (Appalachian State) — Bill Lam

North Carolina – Rob Koll (Cornell) — Bill Lam


Northern Iowa – Joel Greenlee (Ohio) — Don Briggs


Ohio State – John Clark (Sacred Heart) — Russ Hellickson


Oklahoma — Matt Storniolo (Northwestern) — Jack Spates


Oklahoma State – Mark Branch (Wyoming) — John Smith

Oklahoma State – Neil Erisman (Little Rock) — John Smith

Oklahoma State – Glen Lanham (Duke) — Joe Seay

Oklahoma State – Teague Moore (American) — John Smith

Oklahoma State – Pat Popolizio (NC State) — John Smith

Oklahoma State – Coleman Scott (North Carolina) — John Smith

Oklahoma State – John Smith (Oklahoma State) — Joe Seay

Oklahoma State – Kevin Ward (Army West Point) — John Smith


Penn – Roger Reina (Penn) — Larry Lauchle


Penn State – Tim Flynn (West Virginia) — Rich Lorenzo

Penn State – Josh Moore (Cleveland State) — Troy Sunderland


Pittsburgh – Kevin Gavin (Pittsburgh) — Rande Stottlemyer

Pittsburgh – Pat Santoro (Lehigh) — Rande Stottlemyer


Rider – John Hangey (Rider) — Gary Taylor


The Citadel – Tom Borrelli (Central Michigan) — Gene Styles


Upper Iowa – Sam Barber (Air Force) —


Utah State – Gregg Williams (Utah Valley) —


Virginia – Steve Garland (Virginia) — Lenny Bernstein

Virginia – Scott Moore (Lock Haven) — Lenny Bernstein


Wisconsin – Kyle Ruschell (Chattanooga) — Barry Davis

Wisconsin – Zach Tanelli (Columbia) — Barry Davis

To Top