International Wrestling

Dake and Taylor Draft AWL Rosters

dake, Taylor

photos courtesy of Larry and Sandy Slater

Last night was the much-anticipated draft of the American Wrestling League. Brand new world champions Kyle Dake and David Taylor will be serving as team captains, and they took turns drafting some of the top wrestlers in the country to be a part of their respective squads. Dake will head up the Red Team, while Taylor’s gang is the blue team. The inaugural AWL event, “AWL I The Beginning”  will take place on November 30th at the US Cellular Center in Cedar Rapids, Iowa. It will feature a dual between the Blue and Red teams. The results of the draft have already shown the possibility of some intriguing matchups and storylines. The most notable is at 61 kg where a pair of Iowa alums could face off with Tony Ramos and Cory Clark. Since Ramos left Iowa upset after the 2016 Olympic Trials, anytime he squares off with a Hawkeye, it’s always must-see TV. At 65 kg, Jordan Oliver and Zain Retherford are on opposite teams. Oliver has taken shots at Retherford after his suspension over social media for the last year or so, following his suspension by the USADA. Since Oliver’s return, he has demonstrated that he may be the guy to beat domestically at 65 kg.

Here are the remainder of the rosters for both AWL Teams.

Team Dake

57 kg – Zach Sanders / Alan Waters

61 kg – Tony Ramos / Nick Simmons

65 kg – Jordan Oliver / Josh Kindig

70 kg – James Green / Frank Molinaro

74 kg – Isaiah Martinez / Richie Lewis

79 kg – Nate Jackson / Josh Asper

86 kg – Nick Heflin / Pat Downey

92 kg – Hayden Zillmer / Deron Winn

97 kg – Jacob Kasper / Ty Walz

130 kg – Dom Bradley / Ceron Francisco


Team Taylor

57 kg – Nico Megaludis / Frank Perrelli

61 kg – Cory Clark / Bryce Meredith

65 kg – Zain Retherford / Evan Henderson

70 kg – Brandon Sorensen / Anthony Collica

74 kg – Tommy Gantt / Joey Lavallee

79 kg – Alex Dieringer / Dan Vallimont

86 kg – Sammy Brooks / Brett Pfarr

92 kg – Michael Macchiavello / Ben Provisor

97 kg – Kyven Gadson / Blaize Cabell

130 kg – Adam Coon / Robbie Smith

To Top