Men's International Wrestling

Final Results from Day Two of Poland Open as Men’s Freestyle Concludes

Yianni Diakomihalis (Gold/Red singlet) wrestling in the 2021 Poland Open finals. Photo courtesy of Kadir Caliskan/United World Wrestling.

Official release courtesy of Mike Willis/USA Wrestling. 

The men’s freestylers closed out their tournament at the Poland Open this afternoon, collecting four more medals. Yianni Diakomihalis was the lone champion, taking gold at 65 kg.

In the finals, Diakomihalis defeated Poland’s Eduard Grigorev, 7-4. Diakomihalis utilized two single leg takedowns, a step out and a point from a failed challenge to best Grigorev, who scored all of his points via step out. Diakomihalis also defeated Grigorev in the round robin this morning, 9-3. Grigorev is a 2018 University World champion and 2021 European Championships bronze medalist at 61 kg.

Joey McKenna also brought home a medal for the U.S. at 65 kg, earning bronze with a forfeit over Ukraine’s Vasyl Shuptar.

Nick Gwiazdowski took silver at 125 kg, falling to Iran’s Amir Hossein Zare, a 2018 Cadet and 2019 U23 World champion. Zare earned five step out points, causing Gwiazdowski to be cautioned three times, which resulted in the win for Zare.

At 92 kg, Nate Jackson brought home a bronze medal in dominant fashion with a 10-0 thrashing over Uzbekistan’s Rustam Shodiev. Jackson transitioned from a blast double into a leg lace, ending the match shortly before the one-minute mark.

This session concluded the men’s freestyle portion of the tournament, where the U.S. were crowned team champions. Women’s freestyle kicks off tomorrow at 5:00 a.m. EST and can be streamed live on FloWrestling.

2021 Poland Open
Warsaw, Poland

U.S. Men’s Freestyle Results
61 kg: Nathan Tomasello (OKRTC/TMWC)
LOSS – Adian Askarov (Kazakhstan), 9-0
LOSS – Gulomjon Abdullaev (Uzbekistan), 12-1
LOSS – Kumar Ravi (India), 9-5

65 kg: Yianni Diakomihalis (Spartan Combat RTC/TMWC) – GOLD
WIN – Eduard Grigorev (Poland), 9-3
LOSS – Iszmail Muszukajev (Hungary), 7-6
WIN – Krzystof Bienkowski (Poland), INJURY
WIN – Joey McKenna (USA), 15-4
WIN – Eduard Grigorev (Poland), 7-4

65 kg: Joey McKenna (Pennsylvania RTC/TMWC) – BRONZE
WIN – Andrii Svyryd (Ukraine), 8-0
LOSS – Vasyl Shuptar (Ukraine), 6-4
LOSS – Yianni Diakomihalis (USA), 15-4
WIN Vasyl Shuptar (Ukraine), MFF

74 kg: Jason Nolf (Nittany Lion WC/TMWC)
LOSS – Daniyar Kaisanov (Kazakhstan), 4-2

92 kg: J’den Cox (USOPTC/NJRTC/TMWC) – 5th
WIN – Ilja Matuhin (Germany), 4-2
LOSS – Illia Archaia (Ukraine), 2-1
LOSS – Krzysztof Sadowik (Poland), MFF

92 kg: Nate Jackson (NJRTC) – BRONZE
WIN – Ajiniyaz Saparniyazov (Uzbekistan), 10-0
LOSS – Zbigniew Baranowski (Poland), 8-7
WIN Rustam Shodiev (Uzbekistan), 10-0

125 kg: Nick Gwiazdowski (Wolfpack RTC/TMWC) – SILVER
WIN – Yusup Batirmurzaev (Kazakhstan), 9-2
WIN – Youssif Hemida (Egypt), 10-0
LOSS Amir Hossein Abbas Zare (Iran), VCA 2:39

Final results
61 kg
GOLD – Gulomjon Abdullaev (Uzbekistan) DEC Kumar Ravi (India), 5-3
BRONZE – Nurislam Sanayev (Kazakhstan) DEC Reza Atrinagharchi (Iran), 5-0

65 kg
GOLD – Yianni Diakomihalis (USA) DEC Eduard Grigor (Poland), 7-4
BRONZE – Joey McKenna (USA) DEF Vasyl Shuptar (Ukraine) MFF

74 kg
GOLD – Mostafa Mohabbali Hosseinkhani (Iran) DEF Frank Chamizo (Italy), MFF
BRONZE – Daniyar Kaisanov (Kazakhstan) DEC Semen Radulov (Ukraine), 5-2
BRONZE – Khadzhimurad Gadzhiyev (Azerbaijan) DEC Kamil Rybicki (Poland), 9-1

92 kg
GOLD – Zbigniew Baranowski (Poland) DEC Illia Archaia (Ukraine), 12-3
BRONZE – Nate Jackson (USA) TF Rustam Shodiev (Uzbekistan), 10-0
BRONZE – Krzysztof Sadowik (Poland) DEF J’Den Cox (USA), MFF

125 kg
GOLD – Amir Hossein Abbas Zare (Iran) DEF Nick Gwiazdowski (USA), VCA 2:39
BRONZE – Yusup Batiemurzaev (Kazakhstan) TF Youssif Hemida (Egypt), 13-2
BRONZE – Oleksandr Koldovskyi (Ukraine) DEC Diaaeldin Kamal Abdelmottaleb (Egypt), 7-0

To Top