Grand View women collect fourth Heart of America title

OSKALOOSA, IOWA -- No. 3 Grand View women's wrestling traveled to Oskaloosa, Iowa, for the annual Heart of America Conference Championships. The Vikings took home the team race title for the fourth straight time and auto-qualified 10 individuals for the National Championship in March.

Grand View is the only team to have won a heart title since starting the tradition in 2021. The Vikings were crowned in 2021, 2022, 2023, and 2024. The Vikings rattled up 185 total team points, followed by William Pen with 171.5 in second, and Missouri Valley College placed third with 137.5 points.

Earning individual titles for the Vikings outright was 170 pounder Abby McIntyre. McIntyre is also the first to ever win three titles. Earning co-champion status for the Vikings was No. 6 Warren and No. 12 Diaz at 143.

Leading statistically, the Vikings recorded the most TF wins in the least amount of time, with 12 total at 36:19.

With the placings, the Vikings earned 10 automatic qualifiers to Nationals in Jamestown, N.D., on March 8-9th. Automatically qualifying for Grand View was No. 10 Judy Sandoval, No. 9 Tristan Nitta (109), No. 2 Maya Davis, and No. 7 Catie Campbell (123), No. 2 Andrea Schlabach (136), Co-Champions No. 6 Krista Warren, and No. 12 Madison Diaz (143), Heart Champion and 2nd ranked Abby McIntyre (170), No. 10 Andjela Prijovic, and No. 13 Olivia Brown (191). Still looking to earn an at-large bid was second-placing Haidyn Snyder, who had an impressive showing for the Vikings in her first-ever tournament, earning second place.

Abby McIntyre was also crowned the 2024 Heart Women's Wrestling Co-Conference Tournament Outstanding Wrestler.