Photo: Sam Janicki

Brooks named NCAA Division I Wrestler of the Year

Penn State's Aaron Brooks was the most dominant college wrestler on college wrestling's most dominant team ever.

On Friday, Brooks was named 2024 NCAA Division I Wrestler of the Year by The Open Mat. The award comes after Brooks was announced as the 2024 Dan Hodge Trophy winner, awarded to the nation's top college wrestler by WIN Magazine/Culture House.

Brooks captured his fourth straight NCAA title, becoming the seventh-ever four-time NCAA Division I wrestling champion. He helped the Nittany Lions win their third straight NCAA championship and 11th title since 2011. Penn State finished with 172.5 points, breaking Iowa's scoring record of 170 set in 1997. In addition, the Nittany Lions finished with the highest margin of victory ever in NCAA Division I wrestling, outdistancing runner-up Cornell by 100 points.

After winning his first three NCAA titles at 184 pounds, the Maryland native moved up to 197 pounds for the 2023-24 season. He won his fourth Big Ten title and did with bonus-point victories in all three of his matches, which included a 19-3 technical fall over Iowa's Zach Glazier in the finals.

At the 2024 NCAA Division I Wrestling Championships, Brooks cruised to the finals with two technical falls and two pins. He won his fourth national title with a 6-1 victory over previously unbeaten Trent Hidlay of North Carolina State.

Brooks finished the season with a perfect 22-0 record. He had six pins, 11 technical falls and three major decisions.